Vegan MoFo Day 7: Inspiration from a book/film

veganmofo2015-day07aDay 7 is inspired by the Hans Christian Andersen fairytale The Princess and the Pea. Do you have a hater of peas in your life? How discerning is their palate for picking out those dreaded orbs?

I love peas and I don’t really know anyone that dislikes them. I had a handful of dried peas in the pantry…not enough to use on its own, but a perfect amount to hide in this soup! This is a simple modification of the Arabian lentil & rice soup in Isa’s cookbook Appetite for Reduction. I used farro instead of rice (it’s what I had) and added roughly 1/4 dried peas in place of some of the lentils. 

veganmofo2015-day07b

It kind of blends together…but I guess if you were really looking for peas you’d find them.

4 comments on “Vegan MoFo Day 7: Inspiration from a book/film

  1. Aww, what a great way to tie your meal to a story! Very creative (and probably delicious as well). I love seeing everyone’s interpretation of this prompt.

  2. ha! that’s a cool idea for an inspiration. Did you wear a tiara while eating it? I love that recipe so much. I usually add a whole bunch of greens too. Nice idea to throw in some split peas. I always have them in my pantry, so I’ll try that next time! 🙂 Happy Mofo!

Leave a Reply

